• July 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Categories

tire swing

This tire swing hangs at the house where I grew up.  I cannot tell you how many memories I have of jumping off the fence onto the swing and flying through the air with the sky showing a little through the branches and leaves of this big oak tree.

10-11-july-2009-032-medium

When I was back in my hometown this past weekend, we stayed at my grandparents’ house with Granny, Aunt M. and Uncle D.  Granny’s house is next door to the house where I grew up, the house my dad and grandpa built, the house we moved into when I was in 2nd grade.

Saturday afternoon, we walked over to see the old tire swing and told the kids some stories about how much fun their aunts and I had on it as kids.

Living in central Oklahoma where the land is mostly flat, I forget how mountainous it is and big the trees get in SE Oklahoma.  It’s always a bit of a shock to see huge pine trees reaching so far toward the heavens and how big around the trunks of the oak trees are.

5 Responses

  1. I am so thrilled you got a great shot of that old tire swing. Photo is fantastic……

  2. Thanks! I love this photo, too. 🙂

  3. Do you remember walking on the fence, over and over again? I love that tire swing and the fence around the front yard. I miss that house. I remember crying when we moved. We moved into the house 3 weeks before I was born. Poor Mom!! Can you imagine moving when you’re 9 months pregnant?

  4. I do remember walking the fence… and getting locust shells from underneath the fence, too. Do you remember that? Why were we so fascinated with those?

  5. It has a many childhood memories with other kids on your town.We got one tire swing on my grandmother’s house in the province.Whenever i got there,i always remember the times.

Leave a Reply

